Dear cis person…

2000px-A_TransGender-Symbol_Plain3.svgPlease don’t ‘out’ me without my permission.

I know that I am out to the world on the internet, but please don’t ‘out’ me without my permission.

I know that your friend may be confused by you calling me ‘he’ when I sound (and look) like a butch girl, but please don’t ‘out’ me without my permission.

I know that you were just talking about transgender people with another friend, perhaps another transgender person, and you wanted to make it clear that you understand trans issues because you have a trans friend, but please don’t ‘out’ me without my permission.

I know you want to tell that cute gay guy who wants my number that not only am I married, I’m ‘actually not a real guy’, but please don’t ‘out’ me without my permission.

I know you may be talking to someone about the me you knew three years ago, and that you still think of that person as ‘she’ and ‘old name’, but please don’t ‘out’ me without my permission.

I know you’re worried people may think I’m ‘just’ a cross-dresser unless you explain, but please don’t ‘out’ me without my permission.

I know you may be talking to someone about men who have birthed (or women who have inseminated), but please don’t ‘out’ me without my permission.

I know, cis friend, that it can be hard for you to remember that ‘outing’ me could at best cause people to misgender me and at worst put me in physical danger, but please. Don’t ‘out’ me without my permission.

I originally posted this on my old blog on July 25th, 2015.

Leave a Reply

