Five Years

Today is the fifth anniversary of my wedding day. It also happens to be the sixth anniversary of the day Husband and I first met face-to-face – yes, we married exactly a year after we met, which everyone seems to find very romantic. I wish I could show you some photographs from the day we wed, but unfortunately I got married while I was still living as a full-time female impersonator, and nobody wants to see pictures of me in a dress – least of all myself!

A lot has happened over the past five years – lots of bad stuff, but loads of amazing stuff, too. We’ve both gone through a lot of changes – and I’m barely recognisable as the person he married half a decade ago. Nonetheless through it all, Husband has been my biggest support and advocate, and I can’t imagine life without him by my side.

There’s not much more for me to say, really. So I’d like to end by sharing with you the excerpt from a Native American wedding ceremony which was chosen by the registrar (as we chose no music or readings!) and read by her at the register office ceremony we had to legalise things before the ‘proper’ wedding in the woods. I think it’s beautiful; I hope you’ll agree.

May the sun bring you new strength by day,
May the moon softly restore you by night,
May the rain wash away your fears,
And the breeze invigorate your being,
May you, all the days of your life together,
Walk gently through the world and know its beauty.

Treat yourselves and each other with respect,
and remind yourselves often of what brought you together.
Give the highest priority to the tenderness,
gentleness and kindness that your connection deserves.
When frustration, difficulties and fear assail your relationship,
as they threaten all relationships at one time or another,
remember to focus on what is right between you,
not only the part which seems wrong.
In this way, you can ride out the storms,
when clouds hide the face of the sun in your lives,
remembering that even if you lose sight of it for a moment,
the sun is still there.
And if each of you takes responsibility for the quality of your life together,
it will be marked by abundance and delight.

Now you will feel no rain,
For each of you will be shelter for the other,
Now you will feel no cold,
For each of you will be warmth to the other,
Now there is no more loneliness,
For each of you will be company for the other,
Now you are two persons,
But there is only one life before you.
Go to your dwelling,
Enter into the days of your life together
And may your days be good and long upon the earth.

Leave a Reply

